Melbourne Cup Timeline – 1901-2010

The Melbourne Cup is rich in records and traditions and should be a place of interest for all Australians.

1915- For the fist time within the cup a woman horse proprietor wins the cup, Mrs Widdis with the horse Patrobas. melbourne cup winners

1916- just like 1870, the race is postponed for some of days because of unwanted climate and rain.

1925- a brand new grandstand is constructed at Flemington track for contributors of the Victorian Racing membership

1930- For the first time ever, the race is televised with the aid of the Australian Broadcasting fee.

1931- Phar Lap wins the cup because the shortest priced favored ever most effective hours after an strive turned intomade to kill the horse.

1946- The now fashionable photo finish turned into used for the primary time with some achievement.

1954- Racing horse ‘rising fast‘ lives as much as its call via winning the Turnbull Stakes, Cox Plate, Coulfield Cup and the Caufield Stakes, the Mackinnon Stakes, Fisher Plate and of corse the Melbourne Cup.

1958- First yr for the race to apply beginning stalls.

1962- ‘models on the sector‘ takes location at the cup for the primary time ever.

1965- well known race proprietor Bart Cummings wins first race.

1972- degree of distance is changed from imperial to metric. The cup takes vicinity over 3200 metres in preference to the two miles used formerly.

1985- First time the cup is subsidized.

1987- First female jockey rides in the race.

2003- largest crowd thus far at the cup: 122 736

2007- Racing horse ‘green‘ will become the first horse to win the Derby and the cup in successive years due to the fact thatPhar Lap.

2010- one hundred and fiftieth jogging of the occasion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *